Principal Scientific Advisor
Government of India
Dr. K. VijayRaghavan as the Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India is responsible for ensuring coordinated approach among different ministries as they implement their respective S&T programs. In March this year, Dr. VijayRaghavan as the Chairman of PM’s Advisory Council on S&T and innovation, announced nine national missions involving multiple ministries in areas of biodiversity, health, artificial intelligence, quantum computing, waste to wealth, among others. Prior to his current assignment, Dr. VijayRaghavan had served as the Secretary for the Department of Biotechnology from 2013 to 2018 and before that as the Director of the National Center for Biological Sciences of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research and the interim head of The Institute of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine. He was conferred an honorary Doctorate in Science by the University of Edinburgh in 2011. He is a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy and the Indian Academy of Sciences, and a Distinguished Alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur. He is on the academic advisory board for biology of the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune. Prof. VijayRaghavan is a recipient of government of India’s ‘Padma-Shri’, the inaugural Infosys Prize in Life Sciences, and the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize. He is the only Indian elected as an Associate Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization.